How Configuration Works

This Article Applies to:

  • Avast Business Cloud Console
  • Avast Business On-Premise Console

The main way you manage your devices is through policies, which are groups of security rules for multiple operating systems (Windows Workstation, Windows Server, and MacOS X) that determine how Avast Business Antivirus works on the endpoints. Any changes to a policy are applied to the devices and groups assigned to it.

The Avast Business Management Consoles include a default template that has already been set up with the suggested configuration. You can apply this template, or create your own by duplicating the default to customize it or by creating a new template altogether. The default template cannot be deleted until another policy has been created.

A single policy contains settings for Windows Workstations, Windows Servers, and Mac OS X so you do not need to create separate policies for each operating system. This enables you to configure settings for a device group that contains multiple OS types at once. You can create policies by clicking Add Policy on the Policies page. You will then have a chance to name the policy before configuring your settings for the various components.

For more details on how to begin to configure your policies, see Component Overview.

Deleting Policies

  1. On the Policies or Device Settings page, do one of the following:
    • Select the check box(es) of the policies you would like to delete.
    • Click the More button beside a single policy you would like to delete.
  2. Click Delete.

If you have devices tied to a policy you are deleting, you will be asked which policy you would like to apply the devices to. A template can only be deleted when no devices are assigned to it.

Duplicating Policies

You may wish to duplicate the settings of one policy to only change a few details for a different group of devices.

  1. On the Policies or Device Settings page, click the More button beside the policy you would like to duplicate.
  2. Click Duplicate.
  3. Enter a name for the new policy.
  4. Click Duplicate.

Editing Policies

  1. On the Policies or Device Settings page, click the name of the policy you would like to edit.
  2. Make your changes to the policy.
  3. Click Apply Changes.

Changing a Device's Assigned Policy

This process can also be completed via the Devices page. See Assigning Policies.

Cloud Console

On-Premise Console

  1. On the Policies or Device Settings page, click the Directly assigned to or the Policy used by or Settings used by column beside the policy you wish to replace
  2. On the Policy ▸ Assigned Groups and Devices or Settings ▸ Assigned Groups and Devices page, click the check boxes of either entire groups or specific devices in the left and right panes. You can select a combination of groups and devices
  3. Click Change Policy or Change Settings Template
  4. Select one of your policies from the drop-down menu, or if you have selected a non-parent group you can choose to use the settings of its parent group
  5. Click Change Policy or Change Settings Template